In most cases, people gave permission for their profile engine profile to be created when they ticked a box in their Facebook privacy settings: "Allow my profile to be indexed by search engines".
We added these profiles from Facebook to the profile engine database with the full knowledge, approval and permission of Facebook. Facebook agreed to this and contracted with us to provide powerful and innovative search engine features which are not available on Facebook itself.
Sometimes people claim that they did not give Facebook permission to make their data public. Facebook have already made this data public and we have only collected data from sources which are already public. Any dispute over whether or not you gave Facebook permission to make your profile public does not involve us - you should take the matter up direct with Facebook.
Once information has been made public anyone can freely use it without restriction.
Remember that any change you make to Facebook privacy settings only affects future postings, it does not affect material that you have already made public in the past. Once something has been made public it remains public forever.
Although Profile Engine does provide a comprehensive service to delete profiles if you wish to do so, please note that the other companies to which Facebook supplies this same public data do not normally offer any similar deletion service. You cannot make it private by deleting it from Profile Engine.
For further information please read the report by the Privacy Comissioner which is published in the "Downloads" section of the helpdesk.